Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: Alumni > breadcrumbs: 2000's >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0
463792fda8a63 HHS Class of 2001 (Please click on thumbnail to enlarge)
HHS Class of 2001 (Please click on thumbnail to enlarge)

Class of 2001

by Staff

20 Hemingford High School 01

Student and Faculty Highlights of the Year

This page features athletic records, officers, themes, important numbers, important happenings, and other educational information from the year in question. It provides a quick and ready resource for Bobcat Grads and families!

Student Council Highlights – The council put on the Homecoming dance with help from the cheerleaders and featured a skit involving coaches and athletes for a pep rally.  They donated some of their money to help the yearbook club.

Student Council Members – Co-President – Kyle Wade, Kayla Kulas; Seniors – Brison Kuhn, Trista Dye; Juniors – Val Gibson, Nick Stockton; Sophomores – Annie Kulas, Jeff Hoover; Frosh – Wes Sorensen, Brock White, Steph Sorensen, Jamie Schumacher, Brooke Vogel, Jordan Haas

National Honor Society Members – President – Brison Kuhn; VP – Trista Dye; Secretary – Amber Fastnacht; Treasurer – Melinda Wernke; Jason Mitchell, Keal Messersmith, Amy Hashman, Kristi Gettert, Chelsie Jensen, Lindsey Lanik, Joelle Schumacher, John Haas, Shaina Giorgi, Chad Armstrong, Abby Wacker, Paige Prochazka, Jeff Hoover, Ryan Engel, Megan Eickhoff, Joe Collins, Kristine Benda

Music Department – Kim Weideman directed and the Sing Choir, the Mens’ Rhapsody, Mixed Choir goup through a great year.  Honors given to Melissa Wright.  The marching band and jazz band also had a successful year under the direction of Kim Weideman.  Honors given to Bryan Linegar, Brandi Bauersachs, and Stacey Brost

Drama and One Acts – The Speech Team consisted of fourteen members, seven from the past year.  Mrs. Bridge honors seniors Jenny Morava and Amber Stahl.  Gary Henderson was awarded 4th place at State.  One Act – “How Does a Thing Like That Get Started?”

Football – The Bobcats ended the season strong as third in their district with an overall record of 4-5.

Volleyball – Coach Hucke and the Ladycats had an outstanding season with an ending record of 20-10.

Cross Country – Coach Cindy Lanik and her team ended the year by qualifying the boys.

Girls Basketball – The girls under the leadership of Coach Ziettlow finished their season with a 9-10 record.

Boys Basketball – The team ended the season with a 17-7 record.

Wrestling – Coach Gomez and the injury laden crew ended the season with two state qualifiers, Branden Gibson and David Wacker.

Girls Track and Field – State qualifiers for the relay squad were Randi Furman, Shaina Giorgi, Paige Prochazka, and Melissa Wright under the leadership of Coach Ahrens.

Boys Track and Field – 17 tracksters were led by Coach Tim Lanik.

Golf –The 18 members of the golf team advanced under the leadership of Coach Ziettlow.

Clubs and Activities – Cheerleading, Flag Team, Yearbook, Quiz Bowl, 3-D, FFA, FCCLA, Close-Up

Homecoming Royalty –Queen – Randi Furman; King – John Haas; Attendants – Kyle Wade, Jenny Morava, Kayla Kulas, Brett Sorensen

Prom Royalty –  Queen – Trista Dye; King – Brett Sorensen; Attendants – Chad Armstrong, Shaina Giorgi, Ryan Engel, Abigail Wacker

Prom Theme –“Saturday Night Live”

Senior Class Motto –“Most of us spend a lot of time dreaming about the future, never realizing a little of it arrives each day.”

Senior Class Officers –President – Randi Furman; VP – Scott Delsing; Secretary – Melissa Wright; Treasurer – Mary Curtis

Junior Class Officers –President – Melinda Wenke; VP – Chad Armstrong; Secretary – Amber Fastnacht; Treasurer – Sara Hoover

Sophomore Class Officers –President – Abby Wacker; VP – Ryan Engel; Secretary – Paige Prochazka; Treasurer –Kristi Benda

Freshmen Class Officers –Micki Paris, Sarah Lilley, Leslie Shaver, Brooke Voge, Brittani Moeller, Wesley Sorensen

Valedictorian – Lindsey Lanik, Kyle Wade

Salutatorian –

State Competitions –Wrestling, Boys Cross Country, Girls Track

Special or Unique Happenings –

CSC Scholastic Contest Results –

Senior Class Enrollment – 36

Kindergarten Class Enrollment –25

Yearbook Dedication –

Superintendent – Edwin Hollinger

Principal –Steve Osborn – secondary, Todd Burns - elementary

Elementary Teachers –Kindergarten – Linda Folkerts, Annette Davies; First Grade – Jennifer Gasseling, Jennifer Corlett; Second Grade – Sally Engelhaupt, Robyn Prochazka; Third Grade – Donna Engel, Chris Stockton; Fourth Grade – Marilyn Hucke, Nancy Zajic; Fifth Grade – Vicki Kotschwar, Cindy Lanik; Sixth Grade – Caryn Ziettlow, Renee Kollars

Secondary Teachers – Cindy Ahrens, Kathy Bridge, Karen Fastnacht, Sarah Federson, Cathy Fingar, Peter Gomez, Gene Hanks, Bridget Harris, Kay Horstman, Ramona Hucke, Tim Lanik, Jim Milne, Tim Newman, Mandy Plog, Sue Shaver, Lannie Shelmadine, Judy Stewart, Marla Wade, Chris Watt, Kimberly Wiedeman, Dennis Zajic, Todd Ziettlow

Other Staff Members – Jane Kuhn, Joyce Klemke, Lynn Weldon


Class of 2001

Date Subject Posted by:
No feedback has been posted yet. Please post yours!

Back To Top