Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: Alumni > breadcrumbs: 1990's >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0
4637902bb640e The Hemingford High School Class of 1997 (Please click on thumbnail to enlarge)
The Hemingford High School Class of 1997 (Please click on thumbnail to enlarge)

Class of 1997

by Staff

April 29, 2007

19Hemingford High School 97

Student and Faculty Highlights of the Year

This page features athletic records, officers, themes, important numbers, important happenings, and other educational information from the year in question. It provides a quick and ready resource for Bobcat Grads and families!

Please use the response function at the bottom of this pageto read other comments, or to add your own bit of history or memory. Be sure and sign with your name and e-mail address so your classmates and friends can write you.

Student Council Highlights – They began looking into a new sign board in front of the school, sponsored homecoming and found a place for the students to hang out and play pitch during lunch.

Student Council Members –President – Tad Delsing; VP – Todd Phillips; Members – Jeff Schumacher, Kayla Kulas, Sami Phillips, Brison Kuhn, Matt Masseling, Matt Benda, Mick Schledwitz, Laura Gasseling, Bridget Bolek, Sara Clark, Mick Wright, Brooke Raschke.

National Honor Society Members – President – Becci Schmit; VP – Heather Bremer; Treasurer – Kammi Wills;  Secretary – Laura Gasseling; Members – Megan Wernke, Kara Haas, Troy Sorensen, Ben Ahrens, Matt Benda, Holly Reed, Anne Moser, Katie Gettert, Nate Lanik.

Music Department – Conductor Kim Wiedeman along with drum major Karina Dye led the band.  The addition of a swing choir added singing and dancing for everyone’s enjoyment.

Drama and One Acts – One Act: WHO? Cast consisted of Mick Wright, Tad Delsing, Anne Moser, Shantel Early, Sarah Moser.  Students and crowd members included Eric Reed, Ann Manning, Jessica Schledewitz, Brook Rashke, Tori Sorensen, Sara Clark, Becci Schmit, Lisa Belknap, Andy Zajic, Misty Cheek, Laura Buskirk, Katy Dobry.  Stage crew were Justin Schumacher, Jeff Schumacher, Chris Koozer.

Football – The team ended the season with a 5-4 record.  Coach Kurt Finkey received Class C Honorable Mention Coach of the Year.

Volleyball –  Coached by Kay Horstman and Ramona Hucke, the girls ended the season with an 8-13 record.

Cross Country – Coach Tim Lanik lead his 10 girls for the season.

Girls Basketball – The girls finished the season 6-14 with the help of Coach Kurt Finkey.

Boys Basketball – Coaches Lanik and Schmit lead the team to a 16-6 season.

Wrestling – 23 wrestlers of which John Sample, Mike Coleman, and Tim Buskirk were state qualifiers.  Ed Planansky and Dennis Zajic were this years coaches.

Girls Track and Field – Coach Cindy Ahrens leads this seasons girls, sending Brandi Chytka and Laura Gasseling to state.

Boys Track and Field – Two state qualifiers – Eddie Harris (record-setting long jumper at 21'4"")and Scott Morrison, (record setting triple jumper at 42'5") along with the other members were coached by Tim Lanik. The boys were Panhandle Champions

Golf –Coach Mike Mooney and his team won a trip to state. Members included Mike Coleman, Chad Buskirk, Tim Buskirk, Justin Buskirk, and Eric Schmit. Coleman placed 5th at the State Meet.

Clubs and Activities – H-Club - 43 members.  F.Y.I.(For Your Information) – new name for Salsa.  FCCLA (Future Career and Community Leaders of America) breaking record of 70 members including guys and gals.  They began a “Big Brother/Big Sister” program with the second graders.  FFA President – Kami Wills; VP – Clayton Jacobs; Secretary – Ann Hucke; Treasurer – Bob Canaday; Sent. – Dusty Bryner; Reporter – Kristle Kampbell; Chap. – Chad Willey; Hist. – Jeff Lien.

Homecoming Royalty –King – Chris Koozer; Queen – Heather Bremer; Attendants – Darcy Campbell, Mick Wright, Sarah Moser, Eddie Harris.

Prom Royalty –  King – Ted  Rozmiarek; Queen – Sarah  Moser; Attendants – Sarah Clark, Eric Reed, Holly Reed, Heath Bremer; Crown bearers – Katee Folkerts, Brady Horstman.

Prom Theme –It’s Midnight Cinderella

Senior Class Motto - “We have done so much with so little, for so long that we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.”

Senior Class Officers –President – Sarah Moser; VP – Heather Bremer; Secretary – Tim Buskirk; Treasurer – Kami Wiils; StuCo. Rep. - Laura Gasseling; StuCo. Rep. – Nick Schledewitz; StuCo President – Tad Delsing; STuCo. VP – Mick Wright.

Junior Class Officers –President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -

Sophomore Class Officers –President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -

Freshmen Class Officers –President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -

Valedictorian – Sarah Moser

Salutatorian – Ceyonne Ullrich

State Competitions – Boys Track – Eddie Harris and Scott Morrison; Girls Track – Brandi Chytka and Laura Gasseling; Wrestling – John Sample, Tim Buskirk, Mile Coleman; Golf team;

Special or Unique Happenings – Sara Clark wins Miss Rodeo Sheridan County 1996.

CSC Scholastic Contest Results –

Senior Class Enrollment – 36

Kindergarten Class Enrollment – 24

Yearbook Dedication –

Superintendent – Edwin Hollinger

Principal – Stephen Osborn

Elementary Teachers –Kindergarten –Mrs. Folkerts,Mrs. Dufek, Mrs. Stockton; First Grade –Ms. Stolldorf, Mrs. Davies, Miss Garrett; Second Grade – Mrs. Engelhaupt, Mrs. Benda; Third Grade –Mrs. Engel, Mrs. Laeger; Fourth Grade – Mrs. Zajic, Mrs. Hucke; Fifth Grade – Mrs. Lanik, Mrs. Kotschwar; Sixth Grade – Ms. Farritor, Ms. Laughlin.

Secondary Teachers – Cindy Ahrens, Kathy Bridge, Brenda Buskirk, Jill Finkey, Kurt Finkey, Nancy Giorgi, Mary Gould, Bev Hanks, Kay Horstman, Ramona Hucke, Amy Jones, Tim Lanik, Jim Milne, Mike Mooney, Ed Planansky, Mandy Plog, Shelly Smaha, Marla Wade, Kim Wiedeeman, Dennis Zajic.

Other Staff Members -


Class of 1997

Date Subject Posted by:
01/08/2008 My name is spelled incorrectly...the correct spelling is Darcy Kampbell and the name "Kristle Kampbell" should be Campbell. Darcy Kampbell was also the proud President of FCCLA as well. Thank You Darcy Hansen jenziehansen@hotmail.com
01/08/2008 Perhaps the yearbook is incorrect. That is where office staff gathered the information, including the spelling of names, and the list of officers in Ag.
Mr. Ningen
HHS Educator

Back To Top