Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: Alumni > breadcrumbs: 2010's >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0

Class of 2014

Currently being Updated

20 Hemingford High School 14
Student and Faculty Highlights of the Year 
This page features athletic records, officers, themes, important numbers, important happenings, and other educational information from the year in question. It provides a quick and ready resource for Bobcat Grads and families!
Please use the response function at the bottom of this page to read other comments, or to add your own bit of history or memory. Be sure and sign with your name and e-mail address so your classmates and friends can write you.

Student Council Highlights – 
Student Council Members – Seniors -; Juniors - ; Sophomores – ; Frosh -
National Honor Society Members –

Music Department –
Western Conference Honor Choir members were Alexis Phillips Abby Bright, and Joseph Rozmiarek. WTC Honor Band members were Abby Bright, Joseph Rozmiarek, Taylee Neefe, and Natalie Gasseling. The band experienced additional opportunities to perform during our five State Football Play-off games, gaining valuable experience.

Drama and One Acts –
“To See the Stars” was the HHS One Act Play this year, winning a District Championship and advancing to State in Norfolk! Tabi Bryner directed the students during the great year, and Bell Irish, Ashleigh Galles, Cooper Weber, Trevor Benge, and Paige Phillips all won Acting Honors during Conference, District and State Performances.

Football – 
The Bobcats followed up their first ever District Championship in Football last year with their second straight, going (12-1) on the season and winning the NSAA Runner-Up Trophy in Class D-1! They finished their season playing on the turf in memorial Stadium in Lincoln in front of thousands of Cat Fans! Brady Turek, Colt Foster, Ethan Skinner, Blake Hansen, Trevor Benge, Tanner Benge, Matthew Wood, Kyle Kaman, and Asa Carlson all won all-conference honors, with All District and All State Honors going to Turek, Foster, Skinner, Hansen, and Wood. Blake Hansen was also the All-State Defensive Captain for the Class. Wins came over play-off foes Franklin, CWC, Elm Creek, and Overton. The lone loss was by two (18-20) to Exeter-Milligan in the State Championship game in Lincoln. Head Coach was Jordan Haas, with able assistance coming from Randy Hiemstra, Taryn Wood, and Tim Hiett.
Volleyball – 
The Lady Cats were (17-13) for Coach Heusman, including top three finishes in the PAC Tourney and the Hemingford Invite (2nd). Seniors included Kaitlyn Bergfield, Cali Rourbouck, Paige Phillips, Alexis Phillips, and Lexi Olson. Bergfield The Phillips’ Sisters, and two freshmen, Natalie Gasseling and Brooke Turek took home all-conference honors. The JV team finished with a (14-7) won-loss record. Coach was Heather Jensen.
Cross Country –
Sixteen runners braved the heat and the miles for Coach Cindy Lanik. Assistant Tim Lanik also helped the runners earn a team Runner-Up finish at Western Trails, and sent one runner, Sophomore Jason Randolph to the State Meet. Kaylia Nelson was the lone female runner, with Matthew Mayer, Hadley Elder, Jon Mazanec, Joseph Rozmiarek, Lee Jespersen, Cooper Weber, and Toby Phillips rounding out the high school team.

Girls Basketball –
The girls were coached by Dave Chatelain, and excelled in 2013-2014, winning PAC, and finishing as District Runner-Up in a tough  (60-63) loss to Sutherland. Their (20-4) record was a testament the efforts of Brooke Turek, Precious Campbell, Natalie Gasseling, Kaitlyn Kumpf, Cali Rohrbouck, and Kaitlyn Bergfield , who all were honored in our two conferences or by their teammates! The JV team, coached by Steve Morava and Lisa Janssen had a very strong (13-2) record for the season!
Boys Basketball –
The Boys team, coached by Randy Hiemstra, Taryn Wood and Joe Collins fell one point (59-60) to North Platte St. Patrick’s in the District Final and ended their season (18-7). They were PAC Champions, and had a 1,000 point scorer in Matthew Wood! Post-Season Honors went to Wood, Colt Foster, Brady Turek, and Blake Hansen.
Wrestling –

Girls Track and Field –
Boys Track and Field –
Golf –
Clubs and Activities –
Our FFA Chapter held their annual Oyster Feed, advanced some individuals to State Competition in Welding and Veterinary Science, and also hosted the kid-friendly petting zoo and Ag Safety Day. Ethan Skinner served as Chapter President, Wyatt Stricker was VP; Mathew Davis was Secretary; Daniel Manning was Historian, Johnny Manning was Sentinel; Cole Walters was Treasurer; and Colt Foster was Reporter. The Welding team of Brady Turek, Colt Foster, and Ethan Skinner won a District Championship.
The members sponsored Walk to School Day, decorated cookies, and made some Turkey Cups to share. At District Contest, Cali Rohrbouck was a District Champion and then moved on, earning a State Championship in Knife Skills. Taylee Neefe and Allie Mekelon also earned a Gold at State in Focus on Children.
Liam Swires, Gavin Kersley, Dru Swires, and Becca Stone, along with super- teacher Mrs. Kay Horstman!
Cheerleading –
Homecoming Royalty – 
Queen -; King; Attendants –
Prom Royalty –  
Queen -; King; Attendants –
Prom Theme – 
Senior Class Motto - 
Senior Class Officers – 
President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -
Junior Class Officers – 
President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -
Sophomore Class Officers –
President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -
Freshmen Class Officers – 
President -; VP - ; Secretary - ; Treasurer -

Valedictorian –
Salutatorian –

State Competitions – 
Special or Unique Happenings –
CSC Scholastic Contest Results –

Senior Class Enrollment – 22
Kindergarten Class Enrollment – 19
Yearbook Dedication –
Superintendent – Mr. Casper Ningen, 11th Year at District 10
Principals – Mrs. Peggy Foster (HS), 10th year at District 10; Mr. Ron Foster (Elem), 10th year at District 10
SPED Director- Mrs. Mandy Plog, here at District 10 for seventeen years!

Elementary Teachers
Sue Benzel, Jeanette Chasek, Joei Cullan, Linda Folkerts, Ammie Frost, Shari Frost, Jennifer Gasseling, Nancy Giorgi, Dee Hannaford, Kerri Heusmann, Pamela Huddle, Samantha Kresl, Cindy Lanik, Sarah McCabe, Michelle Osmotherly, Robyn Prochazka, Hannah Smith, Natalie Wood, and Sara Schmidt.
Secondary Teachers
Cindy Ahrens, David Chatelain, Joseph Collins, Shelley Smaha, Jordan Haas,  Randy Hiemstra, Kelly Horn, Kay Horstman, Ramona Hucke, Pete Gomez, Lisa Janssen, Kate Jungck, Gordon Karney, Suzanne Neefe, Brad Olson, Terry Rotherham, Sue Shaver, Brandy Stark, and Marla Wade.
Other Staff Members 
Reyna Ansley, Kassy Broadway, Tonie Buchheit, Deb Campbell, Brenda Davies, Lori Glendy, Lisa Haas, Sandy Haas, April Hanson, Jeanette Hucke, Phyllis Jesse, Joyce Klemke, Jennifer Lashley, Jim Miles, Megan Miles, Christy Ningen, Rachelle Poyzer, Brenda Robb, Dorothy Rowe, Tre Surbeck, Pat Vogel, Lynn Weldon, Kim Wills, Kim Yardley, and Nancy Yardley.
Retiring Teachers


Back To Top