Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: Alumni > breadcrumbs: 1980's >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

Story image 1_0
46378b2211b54 The HHS Class of 1988 (Please click on thumbnail to enlarge)
The HHS Class of 1988 (Please click on thumbnail to enlarge)

Class of 1988


by Staff

April 29, 2007

19Hemingford High School 88

Student and Faculty Highlights of the Year

This page features athletic records, officers, themes, important numbers, important happenings, and other educational information from the year in question. It provides a quick and ready resource for Bobcat Grads and families!

Please use the response function at the bottom of this page to read other comments, or to add your own bit of history or memory. Be sure and sign with your name and e-mail address so your classmates and friends can write you.

Student Council Members – Seniors – Angie Kotschwar (president), Stacia Jensen (v-p), Sam Brauninger, Jeffifer Lilley; Juniors – Lee Davies, Jami Cullan; Sophomores – Tonya Raben, Jeff Gaertig; Frosh – Jamie Hamaker, Corey Campbell

National Honor Society Members –

Music Department –Sue Shaver, our director led the choir and band. The Choir earned a superior at Districts, as well as Brenda Reifschneider in her vocal solo.


Drama and One Acts –Director Lyle Fodnes and the cast of 17 presented “Done to Death”. The One Act Play earned a superior at conference, finishing second.


Football – John Stanton coached the Bobcats to 6 wins and 4 losses. The team earned a fourth straight state play-offs spot, defeating Rushville in first round action. End of the season honors went to Chris Baer, Sam Brauninger, Clint Bruhn, Lee Davies, Greg Hill, Joe Planansky, and Todd Turek.

Volleyball – Coach Steve Sauvain led the Lady Cats to a 9-11 record. The Lady Ctas knocked off State Rated Rushville, and placed in three tourneys. Kaylene Kumpf, and Teri Brauninger earned all conference honors.

Cheerleaders –

Girls Basketball –The Lady Bobcats end their season with 12 wins and 8 losses led by Coach John Stanton. Danette Jespersen, Angie Kotschwar,  and Jennifer Walters were selected to all conference teams.

Boys Basketball –Coach Tim Lanik and his team ended the season with a 17-3 record. All State and All Conference Awards went to Sam Brauninger, Greg Hill, Todd Turek, and Jerry Yeager The team won the Prarie League Championship and the Panhandle Championship.

Wrestling –  Coach Ed Plananski had several wrestlers at state, and others that were all conference, including Chris Baer, 6th place at state; Sean Jensen – all conference; Joe Planansky, 3rd Place at state ; Faron Schock – all conference; and J.B. Schwaderer, state qualifier. The team finished 2nd at Hyannis, and won the Hemingford Invite.


Girls Track and Field –Coach Steve Sauvain led a young and talented group setting four school records by Heather McCune, Laura Specht, 400-meter relay team Charlene Adamson, McCune, Specht, Kim Wood, 3200-meter relay team Jamie Hamake, Danette Jespersen, Cara Lohmeyer, McCune.

Boys Track and Field –Coach Tim Lanik had an outstanding 3200 meter relay team of Greg Hill, Joe Planansky, Todd Turek, and Jerry Yeager, setting two meet records during the season. The squad also won the Hay Springs meet, and finished second in conference.

Homecoming Royalty – Queen – Kaylene Kumpf; King – Chris Baer; Attendants – Sam Brauninger, Julie Cullan, Jennifer Lilley, Dan Walters

Homecoming Activities –The Ctas won their game against Rushville 15-6. There was a pep rally and a dance that followed the game.


Prom Royalty –  Queen – Kaylene Kumpf; King – Chris Baer; Attendants – Lee Davies, Jennifer Walters, Joe Planansky, Jolie Montague, Corey Campbell, Kim Wood; Crown bearers – Keal Messersmith, Jackie Davies

Prom Theme – “On the Edge of a Dream” “Squeezeplay” from Chadron, was the band.

Senior Class Officers – President – Chris Baer; VP – Kaylene Kumpf; Secretary – Jenny Schock; Treasurer – Val Planansky

Junior Class Officers – President – Jennifer Walters; VP – Cara Lohmeyer; Secretary – Kris Mitchell; Treasurer – Todd Turek

Sophomore Class Officers – President –Ed Olson; VP – Laura Montague; Secretary – Nicci Johannes; Treasurer – Jolie Montague

Freshmen Class Officers – President – Sonja Shaver; VP – Rhonda Quick; Secretary – Amy Hall; Treasurer – Kim Wood

Graduation –



Special or Unique Happenings – Eirik Leer was a foreign exchange student from Norway that spent the year in Hemingford.

Senior Class Enrollment –23

Kindergarten Class Enrollment –  31

Superintendent – Don Hanks

Principal –  Lyle Fodnes-seceondary, Glen Kotschwar-elementary

Elementary Teachers – Kindergarten – Mrs. Benda, Mrs. Davies; First Grade – Mrs. Stolldorf; Second Grade – Mrs. Engelhaupt, Mrs. Engel; Third Grade -; Fourth Grade – Mrs. Hucke, Mrs. Zajic; Fifth Grade – Mrs. Prochazka, Mrs.Christensen; Sixth Grade – Mrs. Prochazka, Mrs. Thomas

Secondary Teachers –Ken Brown, Marty Egging, Judy Gasseling, Bev Hanks, Tim Lanik, Beverly Nieveen, Ed Planansky, Steve Sauvain, Sue Shaver, Shelly Smaha, John Stanton, Mary Staton, Bill Stolldorf, Marla Wade





Class of 1988

Date Subject Posted by:
01/12/2009 Great to read about and reminisce about old times. I loved the hair do's. I have many fond memories of my years spent teaching at Hemingford, I still stay in touch with the Lanik's and Stanton's... Steve Sauvain sauvains@shenandoah.k12.ia.us Shenandoah, IA Teacher/Coach

Back To Top